Sabrina McNeill: The Journey of Overcoming Adversity and Empowering Others

Sabrina McNeill playing at Auburn University.

I was always a rambunctious kid. I had so much energy. And so, naturally, my mom put me into soccer. I started off as a goalie, but I loved to run, and I was fast. It was not long until they pulled me out of the net. Once I started, I never looked back; I fell in love with the sport.

It wasn’t until the tenth grade that I realized it was something I could pursue—that the sport I loved could give back to me. I was offered a scholarship at Eastern Michigan University, an NCAA Division 1 school. The decision was not hard; I was young and my parents and coach helped me out through the process. Right off the bat, I got a sense of community from the girls on the team.

We were a family.

EMU was a great experience. The girls, the coaches, the whole environment… It was terrific. I got to play at the highest collegiate level in the United States but it was still a smaller school, so it really was a tight-knit group of girls.

Sabrina McNeill playing at EMU

I have always been a team player, and so a family oriented environment is something that I appreciated. I was signed on a full athletic scholarship, and when I had learned that there was only a certain amount of funds that could be allocated to the athletes, I remember thinking:

What can I do? How can I help out my teammates?

In high school I hadn’t excelled academically; I hadn’t figured out the studying techniques that worked best for me. That being said, I worked extremely hard, especially to improve my grades in order for my teammates to receive more funding. By the end of it, I was still being given a full ride, but half of it now came from academic scholarships.

I played five years at EMU.

I got freshmen of the year in my first year. Each year I played I got First Team All-Conference. I got honoured with the role of team captain after a few years.

I loved and cherished my years at EMU.

I’m grateful for my decision.

Nonetheless, I craved competition and I wanted to push myself further.

COVID-19 hit and I used that time to enter the transfer portal. This time around, I researched and explored my options. I knew I wanted to test my abilities. I found Auburn University and instantly connected with the coach and the captain of the team. It was a bigger school, they competed in the SEC conference, but it was still a supportive and friendly atmosphere.

The new environment was thrilling and I was excited to establish myself on the team through my work ethic and drive.

And then, the second game in … I tore my knee.

I’m sitting on the field, thinking, wow, my college career just ended in a blink of an eye.

It was my second time having gone through ACL reconstruction surgery. I had torn my knee at EMU, but there I was captain, a leader, and I still felt like I could help my teammates without physically being on the field.

I had just got to Auburn, I was just starting to showcase myself. I didn’t know how to establish myself on the team; I had always done that through my hard work on the field.

It was challenging.

But I had two other teammates, one of which was my roommate at the time, going through the same exact situation. I could use this time to help guide my friends, to create a support system. I worked hard to get back on the field.

Sabrina McNeill during the early stages of her rehab

I was in the athletic training room 7 days a week.

My injuries have never been something I dwelled on. 

I went on to sign a professional contract for a team in the first league in Cyprus.

Sabrina McNeill playing for Omonoia FC; her professional club overseas

I see my whole career as a positive journey. I am grateful for all of my harsh experiences. I learnt more about myself outside of my sport. And it helped me learn how to transition out of soccer.

I was able to turn it into something bigger. I now have an online community where I can help young athletes with sharing their similar experiences.

Sabrina McNeill at Auburn University

I want to continue to promote how to maintain a confident mindset through injuries.

I created a clothing line tailored to people that have gone through ACL surgery. They can wear their hoodies with pride; sort’ve as a symbol to represent how hard they’ve worked. To be able to say: “I overcame that”.

Soccer has and continues to be one of my greatest passions. It has taught me many lessons over the years and I cannot wait to see what the next chapter of my life may bring.

8 thoughts on “Sabrina McNeill: The Journey of Overcoming Adversity and Empowering Others

  1. Océane, Sabrina sounds like someone who has inspired you these past couple of years…there’s no doubt in my mind that you will, and have already, inspired others with your hard work and determination as well.

    Like

Leave a comment