Hidden Glamour With Gracer – Brandon Grace

Gracer with goaltender Jakub Vondras during Warm-ups

It is extremely difficult, especially in the beginning.

Brandon Grace

Brandon Grace known by most in the organization by his nickname, “Gracer”, is the head equipment manager of the Sudbury Wolves. Born and raised in Sudbury, Ontario. He went to Laurentian University to pursue a degree and graduated from Laurentian University with a degree in Kinesiology. Gracer has spent the past 13 seasons with the Sudbury Wolves, joining the team in 2010 as an assistant athletic therapist and equipment manager. Wanting to work in sports in a therapy capacity, his goals slowly changed and evolved into what he’s doing today as he’s in his first year as the head equipment manager for the Sudbury Wolves.

What got you into working with the Sudbury Wolves and specifically into being the Equipment Manager?

I didn’t originally want to become an equipment manager, I wanted to be an athletic therapist, which is why I pursued a degree in Kinesiology at Laurentian. I was gratefully able to get an internship with the athletic therapist of the Sudbury Wolves, Dan Buckland, in the therapy capacity to work towards becoming an athletic therapist. Over time, the passion for the equipment side of things grew greater, and the therapy side started going more on the back burner. I also met my now-wife in Sudbury and we both have our families here, so we wanted to settle down in a place where we were both comfortable.

Gracer adjusting Wolves player Dalibor Dvorskys’ helmet during a game

Was there anyone you looked up to who helped you pursue your career?

When I first got to the organization, I had a lot of support all around me. Specifically, one man named Doc, when I came in, in 2010, helped out with the equipment side of things. He was a 70-year-old guy, who had been around hockey for decades. He took me under his wing when I first got here, he taught me the ways of the hockey world and treated me like a grandson. He passed away in 2013, but those 3 years were very special to me, especially at the beginning of my career.

What are some opportunities that came with working with the Sudbury Wolves?

I was privileged to get to take part in the CHL Subway Series between Team OHL and Team Russia when it came to Sudbury in 2010, 2013, and 2017 where I was able to be the equipment manager for all 3 years. I think just the sheer number of big stars in those 3 games was really impressive. In 2010 we had Ryan Ellis and Dougie Hamilton. In 2013 we had Aaron Ekblad, Darnell Nurse, Max Domi, Connor McDavid, and Bo Horvat. In 2017 we had Evan Bouchard, Nick Suzuki, and Morgan Frost. It was a great opportunity for me to get to meet and work those games in Sudbury.

Gracer (Top Row, Far Right in all red) at Canada U-18 World Championship in the Czech Republic

It was such a great experience to be able to work those games, and meet the up and coming NHL stars.

Gracer on working the Subway Series games in Sudbury.

What are your greatest memories of your time with the Sudbury Wolves?

That’s a tough one. I think anytime you get into the playoffs and win a series, it solidifies into a memory you keep. I remember in the 2011 playoffs, it was my first year with the Wolves, and we made it into the playoffs as the 7 seed, and we ended up sweeping the Ottawa 67’s who were the 4th best team in the league that year. It was such a great moment to be there when the final horn went in game 4 and we realized what we had done. It’s also a great memory when you or your friends hit milestones. When I hit the 500 OHL games milestone in February 2017 vs North Bay in Sudbury, my friends, and family all came to the game and surprised me afterward by reserving the entire doghouse here in Sudbury. I’d say those are 2 of my greatest memories.

Out of all the players who have passed through the Sudbury Wolves organization, who were some of your favourites, and why?

I’ve had the pleasure of meeting so many great young players enter the Sudbury Wolves through the years. Ukka-Pekka Luukonen is one of my favourites, he always came in as one of the most professional players every day he came to the rink and would always be studying the game. To the point that he would have someone record his practice so he could watch it back to see every detail. I’d also say Franky Corrado, Liam Ross, and Nathan Pancel were all 4-5 year players for us, who just always worked hard and were smiling, and genuinely nice people. One more I’d say is Dalibor Divorsky, who just came this year from Slovakia, purely for the fact he spends so much time with my son anytime he comes to the rink with me. He is such a family-forward and kind person. He’s never too busy to give someone a moment of his time. 

Gracer sharpening skates in the Equipment Room with son watching on

How difficult was it to have a good balanced work-life?

It is extremely difficult, especially in the beginning. You need a very, very supportive spouse and family around you willing to allow you to do this job. My support is the reason I am able to keep doing this year after year, the sacrifices they make for something I’m passionate about, is incredibly important and you can’t do this job without that support.

I wouldn’t be where I am today without my wife

Gracer

 Was there anything you had to overcome when you first got into the organization?

Learning how to do all of the very little everyday tasks that have to be done. Whether it’s learning to sharpen skates, learning to sow jerseys and numbers on the jerseys, or learning how to put rivets into hockey skates, and making sure that everything is in place and ready for the players and coaches. Make sure you are 7 steps ahead of everyone else, even then you feel behind sometimes. You even start to plan a year ahead just to help you feel more ahead, making sure you have all the equipment any player may need, so you are prepared for any situation. All the way down to the little details like tape or screws, and not to mention making sure during all of this you stay well-organized to an extreme point like never before.

What is some advice you have for someone aspiring to get into the field of an equipment manager?

Gracer at U-18 World Championship in 2020

You need to make sure you are passionate, it’s mandatory. At times it’s very thankless, but at other times it’s not. You spend so much time focused on this one thing, that if you aren’t passionate, you won’t be able to handle it. What you’re doing, you’re doing it for a group of young individuals and professional individuals who all need your assistance at any given time. Everything you do is to benefit the team and the player’s future careers, no matter how tough or bearing it is on you, everyone depends on you every day, so you need that passion. You are the first guy at the arena, the last guy to leave, you pack everything for the road trips, and you have to spend days away from your family to help these young men pave a career for themselves. I think, as well as being able to work on minimal sleep for 12-plus hour long days, under the same pressure as you would have to deal with if you had a 10-hour sleep on a practice day. You need to be able to handle extreme external pressures to work with everyone in the organization who needs your assistance because you never know what someone’s gonna need from you on any given day. You need to be passionate.

You need to be so passionate, that you can work 12-18 hours a day all weekend, and you still have the same passion when you start the new week.

Gracer

Leave a comment