German Soccer Superstar “BFG”: Erik Hermanns

Erik Hermanns, born August, 6th, 1999, in Mississauga, ON. Goalkeeper for FK Buducnost Dobanovci in Serbian Tier 2 league – Prva Liga Srbije

Growing Up

I was born and raised in Mississauga, Ontario. My father, Frank Hermanns, was born and raised in Germany. At the age of 16, he moved to Canada. My mom, Ivette Hermanns, was born in New Brunswick and moved when she was older. When she moved there, that was when she met my father. I also have a younger sister, Sophie Hermanns, and she is three years younger than me. Growing up, I was very active; I started soccer from 2-6 years old, then I gave up on it to pursue other sports like basketball, competitive swimming, and even tennis. However, I started to play soccer again at 11 and haven’t stopped since.

Timeline Of Soccer Career

For the first couple of years of my childhood, I played for the Clarkson Soccer Club. We eventually got promoted to the first division. At the age of 16, I started playing for a couple of years with the Toronto Lynx Club, where we played in the Super – Y league. Afterwards, when I was 18, the Toronto Lynx Club I was playing for relocated to Oakville to be the Oakville Blue Devils. So, I began playing there part-time while I also represented the University of Guelph’s Soccer team. In addition, I was a part of the Hamilton United Elite Club, where I was a League 1 reserve. Eventually, in my third year playing for the University of Guelph, I was recruited to play for FK Buducnost Dobanovci in Belgrade, Serbia, in their second division.

Decision On Going Pro

It was a tough decision to commit to, given the limited potential to be scouted into professional soccer in Canada since it is newer with the professional league. So, when I was going to university, I had the original plan to play soccer for the University of Guelph while completing my Bachelor’s degree to then work as a full-time job in my field of study. However, two years ago, during my third season playing for Guelph Gryphons, the opportunity came up if I wanted to play in Serbia professionally, which I accepted.

My Career Right Now

At this moment, I would say that my soccer career is at a grinding period. I’m still young in the sport since I’m only 22 years old. However, to reach the potential I want to get as a goalkeeper, I will have to wait a couple more years until I am more developed. Recently, I received my first ever professional contract with the team for this season. The contract is a pro minimum contract that will give me minimum wage pay of 300 euros a month. It certainly isn’t a contract I can make a living on; however, it is a pivoting start into the future.

Scouts from other European leagues

Accomplishments

I am most proud of making the Pro Debut for my current club in Serbia as a starting goalkeeper. This accomplishment felt like all my hard work paid off. It was also the first time I had a crowd of over 5000 fans watching in the stands. Another great accomplishment I can say I’m very proud of was receiving that professional contract from my club here in Serbia. In addition, in my early years playing soccer, I received many personal accolades playing competitively, such as:

  • Inquired by TFC2 head coach after 2019 season with University of Guelph
  • Inquired by Manchester City scout in 2016 while in England with Toronto Lynx
  • Inquired by team Ontario for interprovincial games in 2017
  • Participated in Freiburg academy training camp in 2015
  • Winner of Athlete of the Week award in October 2019 for the University of Guelph
  • Nominated for University of Guelph Most Improved Player award (2019-2020)
  • Winner of OUA Bronze metal

Bumps In The Road

While playing soccer this year, I had to experience several bumps in the road that have affected my professional and personal life here in Serbia. Unfortunately, when I came back home for the month break during Christmas, it was the last time I was able to see my childhood dog, Brie, before her passing. It was a difficult time for my family and me. However, I knew I had to keep my chin up and stay strong and focus on my career here. For my professional life last January, when coming back to play for my club here in Serbia, I was advised by my coach before that I may be our starting goalkeeper for the season. Unfortunately, that was not the case. A few days before the season started, the team had recruited another goalkeeper in his mid-30s to take the starting spot. So, I was to be the backup again. This news felt like a setback, and it was tough to take in at the time. I felt the coaches lost trust in me, and I was no longer recognized as a valuable piece to the team’s future. Nevertheless, since then, I’ve kept my chin up and used these unfortunate events as motivation in my development in Serbia on the team to prove my value and worthiness.

Frank and Ivette in attendance – Winning 3rd place in OUA against University of Toronto

Thankful For

Throughout my childhood until now, I can say I am very thankful for the people and experiences that I have had the privilege to meet and have. Firstly, I am grateful for attending the University of Guelph and having the opportunity to be a part of the soccer team and gain that University experience and knowledge. During my time at Guelph, I have made great friendships, and fortunately, I consider myself lucky since I was able to meet my girlfriend, who has never stopped supporting me throughout most of my soccer career. Lastly, for those experiences to even of happened in the first place, I am forever grateful for the support from my parents. Without them, I would not be where I am today nor have been able to do any sports growing up, or be able to attend the University of Guelph, and even be able to play soccer here for FK Buducnost Dobanovci in Serbia. 

Goals

For the next few months, I set goals that I’d like to achieve in my professional career here in Serbia. Seeing that I’m still in that period of being a young prospect, I’d like to keep grinding and working hard to eventually achieve that starting position on the field as a goalkeeper. As a long-term goal, my objective is to play in a well-developed country such as France, Germany, or England to play professional soccer and to be able to make a very comfortable salary.

Highlights

Full game of Hamilton United Elite (white) vs Oakville (dark blue) 2019. Score: 1-0

Full game of Hamilton United Elite (black) vs Sigma academy (white) 2019. Score 0-1

Leave a comment