Joe Drago: A Junior Hockey Legend

First and foremost, junior hockey means the world to me. I firmly believe that everyone involved in hockey should try to pave the way for the next generation. More and more young players are making it to the NHL, and I think a large part of that is how the junior hockey system prepares these young players both physically and mentally. Back when I played, the role of the goon was extremely prevalent on almost all hockey teams. It was something you could not avoid. These players only purpose was to cause problems for the other team. This was fine for when I played, though when I eventually retired and saw that these same tactics were being used in junior hockey, I knew something had to be done. I was not a fan of junior teams recruiting players for the sole purpose of fighting and hitting. I was starting to see many junior hockey leagues become tainted with that dirty style of play. I soon after got on board for the Ontario Hockey Federation (OHF) as a Junior Council chair and eventually moved my way up the ladder to the position of President. I knew once I started volunteering for the OHF that my main goal was to try and eliminate that style of hockey so many teams were playing at the time. However, let’s not beat around the bush, not every player that plays junior hockey makes the NHL. I knew that I wanted to educate the next generation of junior hockey players that hockey was not the be all end all. I wanted to combine education with hockey. At the end of the day, I got into junior hockey to better the system for the next generation by promoting a skilled style of play, stressing the importance of education, and hopefully providing a fun place for kids to play.

It was simple for me; I fell in love with the style of play displayed at the World Juniors and Olympic teams. Going back to what I previously said, the players that were selected for the World Juniors and Olympics were chosen purely on skill. I was witnessing the pinnacle of Canadian hockey, and it fascinated me. I was also intrigued by the selection process. Guys were being selected to fill particular roles for the team. Some guys were specifically chosen to be on penalty kills or powerplays. Everyone that was selected bought into the system and that is why team Canada has seen great success on the grand stage, whether that’s the Olympics or World Juniors.

Well truth be told, there’s a huge difference with working with both teams. It is no secret that the women’s teams are underfunded and underrepresented. It was during a trip to the Czech Republic with the women’s team that I truly saw the difference in how both teams operated. The way those women were treated compared to the men was disgusting. It was almost as though they were third class. At that time, the only thing Hockey Canada really did for them was supply them with a uniform. I knew something had to change. So, at the very next board meeting the very first topic on my agenda was to reevaluate how the organization was handling its women’s teams. I told them plain and simple that how women’s hockey was being ran was disgraceful. These women are extremely talented and deserve the same attention and luxuries the men are given. After that meeting, we pushed more of the budget towards the women’s team and gave them the attention and spotlight they deserved. Now by no means is the problem fully solved, though have made strides from where women’s hockey once was.

I look back on all the organizations I have worked for with a sense of pride. However funnily enough, some of my greatest memories come from my tenure as the coach of the Lasalle Lancers. The Lancers are a Sudbury high school hockey team, that I was fortunate to have the opportunity to coach. The reason I look back so fondly on my time with the Lancers is because of the group of guys I had the pleasure of coaching. There was a drive from these kids that I had never seen before. Prior to the season starting everyone involved with Sudbury high school hockey said we would never amount to anything and wrote us off immediately. And boy did we sure prove them wrong. We eventually went on to win everything there was, based purely on drive and determination. There was such a desire to win, that I couldn’t help but take pride in coaching such an excellent group of kids. Even to this day, though they are not kids anymore, we keep in touch. Anytime I reconnect with those players we can’t help but reminisce about those days. I’m proud to say that they too look back on that team with the same fondness I do. Those boys were family to me, and they shared the same values about hockey as I did. It was all about having fun, and not constantly stressing about making the NHL. Cause at the end of the day, shouldn’t hockey be fun?

Well throughout my life I have had many people influence who I am today, though I would have to say my high school hockey coach and teacher was one of the biggest role models I had throughout my life. He was the person who hired me to become a principle. It was when I became the principal that he would invite me out to go golfing. It was that day golfing that he truly became a mentor for me. We arrived at the first hole ready to golf, and surprisingly decided to sit on a bench the whole time and talk. I’ll never forget what he told me that day. He explained to me that I needed to always keep a notebook on me. The whole point of the notebook was observations. On the left page I needed to write down things I saw people do that made them successful, and on the other page I would write down the opposite. The idea is that you can’t possibly know everything, and the key to being successful is observation. So, I took his advice seriously, jotting down things I thought I could do to be successful and things I should probably steer clear of. Funny thing is I still have that book to this day, and I add to it continuously.

I have met a lot of great players throughout my time at Hockey Canada. However, two players stuck out the most to me in representing Canadian values. While this answer will surprise absolutely nobody, I would have to say Sidney Crosby and Connor McDavid. At the World Juniors, I spent a lot of time with McDavid and his family. During that time, I uncovered how truly fantastic Connor was as player and has a person. He was such a kind and down to earth individual, and I hope the NHL does not change that. To me, he is the greatest player I have ever seen play. In my opinion he is better than Wayne, but that comment might get me some backlash. His awareness is on a whole other level, and his acceleration is unmatched. That man knows where to be at all times. On the other hand, there is not a more solid guy than Crosby. That’s a guy who never forgot exactly where he came from, and truly exemplifies what it means to be a professional hockey player, furthermore a Canadian hockey player. Whether its for Canada or the Penguins Sidney has always been an exceptional leader, and that is something I really admire. I also have great respect for his humbleness. He has won pretty much everything you can when it comes to hockey, but by the way he presents himself you would never know.

Well without sounding too selfish, I would have to say being elected to Hockey is by far my biggest accomplishment. It is a feat that I am truly proud of and hold very dearly. To me, it was such a grand achievement because at that time no from northern Ontario was ever elected to Hockey Canada. The entirety of the board was run by folks in the west. I was fortunate enough to have been able to attend several meetings as an observer, and it was after one of those meetings that I was told I should run for the board by the current chairman. Hearing him say that was fantastic, although I was unable to since I was already the commissioner of the junior league in Sudbury. To run for positions in Hockey Canada I had to be apart of an association like the NOHA. Luckily by the next year the constitution was changed allowing anyone to run if they wanted to. Wouldn’t you know it, I decided to run for junior chair and was accepted. After that I moved my way up the ladder to secondary vice chair, vice chair, and then finally chairman. I am extremely proud that during my election I had received every vote except one province.

You know, I had a pretty good upbringing. I was blessed with a great family who deeply cared for me. Like most other families out there, my parents did all that they possibly could for me. They plenty of sacrifices throughout the years just so that I would have whatever I needed. But it did not stop there either. While my family did all that they could for me, we simply did not have the money for me to attend college. I was ready to move on after high school, until my role model found a hockey scholarship at Clarkson University. Unlike most post secondary students, I was able to finish school with zero debt. To this day, that is something I am truly grateful for. By the time I was in a position to be able to help others by volunteering, I did so. If it weren’t for the people who helped me along the way, I would not be here. I felt as though I had a responsibility to give back if I was able to do so. Fortunately, I have been able to do so and believe that my volunteering efforts have better those around me.

Written by: Noah Thibeault
Contributions by: Joe Drago

Leave a comment